Skip to content

Can you spell masochistic?

October 25, 2008
tags: ,

Okay, I’ve done it.

As you can see on the right-hand side of this screen I’ve gone and signed up for NaNoWriMo, the month-long virtual literary torture chamber founded by Chris Baty and a bunch of his friends in 1999.

I’m hoping that a month where my goal is 50,000+ words will help me tell my inner editor to sit down and shut up until the first draft is done.  This will be all the more interesting since I’m in my third year of a Computer Engineering degree which means the classes are getting more challenging.

What’s life without challenges, though?  I’m working up a rough outline of a horror novel that’s been burning in my brain for the better part of a year.  I’m hoping to finish the first draft of that during NaNo which means my actual goal will probably be somewhere in the 70-80K range.

Because that all’s not challenging enough, I’m also going to try and work on Veil as well since the story is still dripping out at times (mostly inopportune).

That thing on the right should (hopefully) keep any of you unfortunates who actually read my drivel informed of my daily progress.  I’ve also put the widget (computereze for “little program thingy”) on my Google site and my MySpace page.  Hopefully this will inform on the order of 10 whole people how badly I’m failing and perhaps spur some of them to put a boot up my ass.

I’m hoping to at least do a small post each day of NaNo to document my experience as a NaNo virgin.  Here’s to hoping.  And caffeine.  Lots of caffeine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

