Skip to content

Back from parts known and unknown…

January 22, 2009
tags:

Yep, I have failed miserably in keeping this blog rolling for the last couple of months.  There are a few reasons, however.

Finals took the beginning of December.  Yuletime took the rest of that month.  The death of our beloved Chow Chow, Tipsy, on the tenth of this month ripped out my desire to do much of anything for a while.

Now that school has started up (funny how that works), I will probably begin anew on Veil and trying to translate the process I’m going through on this here blog thingy.  Until then, here’s a little “writer’s mantra” thing I wrote off the cuff a while back (I titled it “A Reader’s Prayer” which is, perhaps, not the best title for it but, as I said, it was off the cuff and is still unedited…I wanted to capture the raw thoughts I was having at the time.).  It’s about that old writer’s nemesis, showing v. telling.

A Reader’s Prayer

Don’t tell me how it felt, make me feel it.
Don’t tell me how it smelled, make me smell it.
Don’t tell me how it tasted, make me taste it.
Don’t tell me how it sounded, make me hear it.
Don’t tell me how it looked, make me see it.

Don’t tell me, show me.

Don’t tell me how awful the anger, anger me.
Don’t tell me how deep the sorrow, sadden me.
Don’t tell me how high the bounds of joy, lift me.
Don’t tell me how unsettling the fear, scare me.
Don’t tell me how debilitating the worry, worry me.

Don’t tell me, show me.

Don’t tell me what I should learn, teach me.
Don’t tell me the answers, give me the clues.
Don’t preach your view to me, make me see it from your side.
Don’t bore me with endless description, make me see your world.
Don’t give me cardboard cutouts, give me the people I know and care about.

But most of all:
Don’t tell me, show me.

– Todd Macy

One Comment leave one →
  1. apb148 permalink
    January 22, 2009 8:05 pm

    Todd, I like it. I think the un-edited version tells (oops) shows me how you felt at the moment. good job.

Leave a Reply

