Skip to content

A New Approach

April 11, 2009

Well, Friday was a day to reflect on the direction I want the remainder of my life to take.  Well, reflect and keep tabs on my two boys.

Ultimately, of course, I’d love to be a widely-read and liked author.  Perhaps that’s a pipe dream but there’s always that small chance that I actually have some talent at this wordsmithing and one day my hard work at learning how to harness it will pay off and I will be recognized.

The first step, of course, is to write, write, think a bit, write and then write some more.  It’s been said so much that it’s probably entered into the realm of the trite cliché but it is nonetheless true; writers write.  No matter what your talent level.  No matter how many great ideas float around in your head.  No matter what you write.  If you don’t write, you’re not a writer.  Just like if you don’t do surgery, you’re not a surgeon and if you don’t teach anyone anything, you’re not a teacher.

The whole “write anything even if it isn’t coherent” advice I’ve seen around tends not to sit well in my cerebellum, however.  It’s in my makeup to need at least an ultimate destination.  I’m one of those people who can’t even drive aimlessly, I have to be going somewhere or it seems pointless. 

Obviously, then, what I need is to begin my day with a destination in my writing.  Where do I hope to end up?  Who will be with me when I get there?  Will the trip be worthwhile once it’s over or will the trip end up being a waste of intellectual gas?  Would I have been better off sleeping for that time?

I suppose the answer to that will come as I implement this new tack.  I’m sure it’s far from a new approach but it may just be the one that helps me the most as my self-imposed deadline for Veil nears (only about 9 weeks ‘till that puppy hits).  I also have to learn to allow myself to ax everything written in a day if need be.

Because it’s just important I have a destination even if it’s just to get back home again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

