Skip to content

Let The Waffeling Begin

October 25, 2009

Okay.

So, yeah, NaNo starts in a week and I have (tentatively) decided I’m going to go with a fantasy novel that’s kicking around my gray matter.  This, of course, leads to a sci-fi novel trying to elbow its way to the front burner.

So now I’ve got my brain, convinced that I’ve been granted a miraculous gold nugget, trying to shift from plotting/writing the fantasy novel to exploring this sci-fi story.  It will be one heckuva story given enough time to develop but it only came to me in the last day or so.  I already determined that I’m not a pure pantser and, therefore, probably cannot plot enough of the sci-fi novel to do it justice in November.  But it’s a great story with compelling characters.

Did I mention that NaNo starts a week from today?

I’m hoping that my brain will settle for plotting the sci-fi on the side while hunkering down and writing the fantasy for NaNo glory.  If that doesn’t work then I’m setting up for certain failure (again).  This is the same sort of thing that happened last year.  I ditched the original plan to tackle a great idea that came to me the night or two before NaNo.  In the light of the pressure of multiple thousands of words a day that story didn’t look so great somewhere around the tenth of November.

I’m sure the lesson I need to learn here is to stick with my original plan but that’s easier said than done when a story is crying out as loudly as the sci-fi one is right now.

Let’s hope it turns out to be a lesson learned.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Don R permalink
    October 27, 2009 12:08 am

    I wish I had an idea for a novel, let alone two. It’s tempting to try nano again but I’m pretty certain I don’t have the time. But I’m not certain about that point. Hmm…

  2. toddmacy permalink*
    October 27, 2009 7:55 am

    Heh. That’s just the two that I’ve considered for NaNo fodder. I think I have about 12 in the pipeline right now and quite a few that might develop into ideas. 😉

    Time is irrelevant as far as NaNo goes. Theoretically, it should teach you how to make time. I didn’t follow the full spirit of NaNo (write what you can when you can) last year and failed miserably because of it. I’m hoping that knowing all that will help me this year.

    There’ll be thousands of us around in case you decide to join in the insanity. 🙂

  3. Don R permalink
    October 30, 2009 12:16 pm

    One of the things that worked really well for me as far as word count was there was some kind of AIM chat room or MSN or something, I forget, and they would do these contests like who can write 100 (or some number) words the quickest. We would then write as fast as we could and type DONE when we were done. Man, I got a LOT of words done then. It really gets you to stop the internal censor and just let it all flow. Of course, quality suffers but quality is not the point for NaNo.

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

