Skip to content

I’m a baaaaad boy.

April 12, 2010

Okay, so, apparently the re-tooling of this blog included a three month silence.

I’m okay with that, though.  Okay, not really but I have to be don’t I?  I mean, unless someone out there has a time machine and a motivation enema that I can borrow.

So, in the interim, I have completed (writer’s “completed”, not reader’s completed) Chapters 4, 5 and 6 of Veil and am currently slugging my way through Chapter 7.

Chapter 4 involved a nice tragic incident for the protag while Chapter 5 broke new ground for me as a writer since I had to try and imagine what it’s like inside my oldest boy’s head (the son with Asperger’s).  Chapter 6 turned out to be your run of the mill, weirdness becomes me, paranormal-intro type chapter.

Chapter 7, I’ve decided, will re-visit the antagonist and begin with his take on the happenings at the end of Chapter 6 as well as, I hope, give a little more insight into who he is and how he thinks.  You know, make him a bit less crazy (maybe not) and a bit more likable.  Or pitiable.  Pitiable might work.

Chapter 8 (Aren’t I getting a wee bit ambitious now?) will most likely center around a sibling of the protag and how they deal with the happenings as well as what is happening with the protag’s son.

The rest of it is kind of fly by the seat of my pants time because I really only knew for sure what I wanted to do in the first six chapters.  So the rest of this should be fun.  Or an adventure.  Or both.  Hopefully both.

I have run the first six by a pre-reader (whose name shall be withheld for now in order to preserve her reading dignity) and she hasn’t used very many four letter words or suggested I take up shit shoveling rather than writing.  Yet.  So all should be kosher enough to keep the inner critic demon at bay for a little while anyway.

I think my problem with the blog is that I’ve tried to start out hitting an every day schedule.  I’m going to ease up on myself and try for a MWF update schedule (perhaps with the odd weekend thrown in as well) and see how that works out.  It’s either the scheduling or my propensity toward procrastination.

Yeah, it’s gotta be the scheduling.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 3:10 pm

    That’s all I had when I started Make or Break… the first several chapters, and maybe a few key events for later in the book. I did NOT know “whodunnit,” and didn’t even know who all my main secondary characters would be. As I wrote, I’d take the next step, and the characters took on their own personalities, and then decided who wanted to stick around and who didn’t. Some were more persistent, chattier, or crazier than I thought. Some, who were originally only vague ideas, became favorites of mine. So… maybe that’s why I like your process. You write like I do! 🙂

  2. toddmacy permalink*
    April 15, 2010 10:45 am

    Lori,

    Sometimes (well, okay, most of the time for me) it’s a frustrating way to work — somewhere between a plotter and a pantser — but what’s a person who hates to outline to do otherwise.

    Even when I was taking programming classes I hated to flowchart. I like my creations to grow like weeds then cut them back into the manageable rigidity that makes landscaping look good.

    The beauty of it is, when you’re working on the right project, the characters essentially write the thing for you and all you have to do is type fast enough to keep up. 🙂

    And, by the by, I only wish I could write like you do. 😉

Leave a Reply

