Skip to content

‘Til Edit Do Us Part

April 21, 2010

Well, for better or worse, Chapter 7 is done.  (This is “Writer Done” not “Reader Done”, remember.)

Worse gets my vote, as it always does.

I’m not the most confident of writers where my perceived “talent” is concerned. I’ve been told many times over many years by many different people that I have/had a knack for writing. I’ve had people beg to read more and get impatient when I don’t have more right away.

On the other hand, I’ve had people be pretty indifferent toward my work. Even worse, I’ve had people think my writing wasn’t all that good. Shock of shocks, I know.

So, yeah, I tend to believe my detractors and think that my praisers are “just being nice” or “don’t want to hurt my feelings.” I’m hoping that that will change as I begin wallpapering my writing space with the inevitable rejections. I’ll either have to start singing my own praises then or sink into a spiraling depression that ends with a cot next to the worm at the bottom of a bottle of Cuervo.

I don’t much like tequila so I guess I’d better learn to like my work more. 🙂

So, anyway, until such time as an agent/editor/publisher in the future sees this chapter as wholly unnecessary, Chapter 7 is done.

Onward and upward to Chapter 8.  As soon as I find out who’s telling that one. 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

