Skip to content

Peeking Out From Under The Marble Block

July 27, 2010

Okay, so the block that plagues us writers may not be made of marble but it’s big and it’s nasty and it crushes us just the same. Also, it’s a little hard to type when you have a big rock on your head.

Problem is it doesn’t kill us. Okay, maybe a little. But that’s just a dying inside type of death.

So, here I am, under the metaphoric (metamorphic?) chunk of stone that stalls many a manuscript. That’s when it hit me. It’s been three months (THREE! MONTHS!) since I even wrote a blog post. That’s really inexcusable but, at the same time, makes a ton-load of sense.

This blog, after all, is about tracking my novels in utero, as it were. If there’s no development of the manuscript then it necessarily follows that there would be no developments on the blog.

If, however, I quit kidding myself and remind myself that this blog is also supposed to give insight into my thought processes as a writer then it’s completely asinine and inexcusable that there isn’t an update at least every other day since not a day goes by that I don’t think about at least one of my WIPs.

So, with all of that in mind, I’m hoping to keep this blog constantly open in a tab or two so that I can’t “forget” to update it. We’ll see how that works.

My next post might even be about my plans for my latest NaNo failure coming up in November. 😉

Okay, I really need to get back under my marble block. My keyboard is calling and the candle is burning down.

Hey, it’s dark under here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 11:30 am

    You have to focus. That’s been my problem lately. Edit MoB? Submissions? The sequel? Why do a sequel when Book 1 isn’t selling? Get going on the Gold mystery? Fine. So yesterday I said, “least work, biggest potential payoff: Submissions.” And I did some. Now, I think – I mean I’m pretty sure – I’m going to start the new mystery in the next week or two. At least some preliminary ramblings to see if the beginning I have figured out works. I think you’re more deeply involved in Veil. I think you should get me chapter 8 by August 7. There. A deadline. I’m not ‘Netta, but I can still probably kick your ass. 😉

Leave a Reply

