Skip to content

Let’s Try This Again

September 12, 2010

Okay, so, that whole “update every other day” thing hasn’t really worked. Yet. I still have hopes. Then again, I’m a writer so I feed on hope. I thrive on it.

Again, I regret to report that Veil is still suffering from writer procrastination.

The weirdest part about it is that it’s not lack of character motivation or destination.  It’s not a lack of ideas on how to get where I want to go with the story.  I’m not sure what it really is.  It’s been stated that it’s a lack of focus.  I have no other alternatives so that must be it.  I suppose meditation might help me get my focus back.  It’s worth a shot.

I spend much of my days teaching my Aspie son the importance of focusing on the task at hand.  Papa don’t preach what ya ain’t gonna practice, eh?  😉

So, if I can get some focus out of my brain then perhaps in the next day or so I can get this Chapter 8 monkey off my back.  It’s a great, creepy chapter.  It’s a chapter that lends further insight into the antagonist.  It puts a character at major risk as well as putting that character in a weird situation (above mentioned creepy aspect).  I just need to write the damn thing.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

So November is slowly creeping up on me.  November, as all who are savvy (and crazy) wordsmiths know, is National Novel Writing Month.  I will try it again.  I will probably fail again but they say writing is an exercise in persistence which tells me that eventually I will win the thing.  I know, I know.  My history of prolificness is spotty at best and nonexistent at worst.  I’m a writer;  I live on hope, remember?  😉

I have a fairly fleshed out idea for my NaNo novel.  So far, however, it’s more of a character study.

Don’t get me wrong.  It’s got plenty of conflict.  I’m a writer, however, who shoots for conflict more of the “earth-shattering” or at least “someone’s gonna die soon” variety.  This plot, so far, is mainly emotional conflict.  Internal as well as external.

I’m hoping that I can come up with something a little more compelling plot-wise in the next six or so weeks.  If not then I’ll just have to write it as is, I suppose.

Until then, however, I have at least one person waiting on the first draft of this damn Chapter 8.  :/

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 11:51 pm

    Been there, done that. Some people suggest pushing through it and just getting it done, and others say to wait it out, it will come when it is ready. I suspect it’s a combination of the two, no more, no less. I don’t believe in writer’s block, per se, but I do believe in writer’s constipation. Take two flaxseed and call me in the morning. 😉

Leave a Reply

