Skip to content

Warming Up

October 22, 2010

I really have to get better at updating this darned thing.  I came up with my best idea yet to make that happen.  Of course, the bar is set low enough now that “best idea yet” isn’t all that titillating to any of y’all, I’m sure.

 

Anyway, I’ve been fretting over my lack of progress on Veil and just haven’t been able to feel it.  You know?  You do, don’t you?  I’m not alone here, am I?  No.  I can’t be.

 

But I digress.

 

It was suggested to me by one of my Facebook friends (you know who you are, Annetta) that I go back to the oldie, moldy method of writing whatever’s floating around this noggin of mine for 15 to 20 minutes to warm up.  I used to do this (at the insistence of my senior year creative writing teacher, Mrs. Warr) every weekday in high school.  Many times that warm-up period was a constant string of “I don’t know what to write.”  or “I really, really, really don’t want to be doing this right now.”  or even “Mrs. Warr can kiss my ass right now for making me do this.” but many more times there appeared in the scribblings the seeds of a not-too-shabby story.  Sometimes I challenged myself to write a serial in the pages of that notebook.  Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn’t.  The one thing it did do was loosen the ol’ brain-greasing system.

 

And that was the point of it.

 

Then I thought about this blog.  For the first time in a month or so, I’ll admit.

 

I figure that the point of this blog is to document the demented thought processes of someone who actually chooses to try and be a writer.  The warm-up exercise is supposed to get the juices flowing by venting whatever’s on your mind.  Like a new ink pen.  You gotta warm up that tip to get the ink aflowin’.  What better place to do my (hopefully) daily warm-up than on the pages of this blog?  Trash can and toilet paper don’t count.

 

So, after this post (although I guess this post counts since this is what’s on my mind right now), expect a lot of inane chatter on this batchannel.

 

It should get interesting.  It should get deranged, weird, demented and, quite possibly, illegal in 48 states.

 

Just promise me you’ll laugh with me, okay?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 10:40 pm

    Cool! Don’t mind me; pretend I’m not here.

  2. toddmacy permalink*
    October 23, 2010 10:31 am

    Hi Don. 🙂

    I’m waving at you through my monitor. Can you see it? Can you? 😉

Leave a Reply

