Skip to content

Harpies Spew Beer!

January 1, 2011

First, I’d like to welcome one and all to 2011.

I’m hoping it will be a far more productive year for me than was 2010. Both in writing as well as other aspects of my life which have nothing to do with writing except for the time they help suck away from it.

In that vein, I’m pushing most of my good mojo south toward Richardson hoping that I get a callback next week about an IT job (for which I am eminently qualified) so that I have a day job not to quit while I continue to pursue my writing dreams. Any external good mojo is more than welcome. 🙂

As I’ve already told my Facebook (I know, “boo, hiss, evil!”) friends and family, I haven’t “resolved” anything other than plot problems since the debate team in high school and I’m not going to change that now. I don’t do New Year’s resolutions.

All I can do is promise with everything I’ve got physically, emotionally and spiritually to get a writing routine set which will allow me to get one to three thousand words a day (ideally) written so that I can at least have a few first drafts to work on by fall.

The single biggest thing, I think, that I can do to help this along is to actually update this “follow the mediocre writer through his trials and travails” blog at least every other day (ideally it would be daily).

Again, I don’t “resolve” to do this. The best I can do is promise with all I have, yada, yada, yada.

My major goal by this time in 2012 is to at least have an agent inked and actively helping to sell my stuff.

To this end, I do have a manuscript which I “finished” in the summer of 2006 in the clutches of my long-suffering pre-reader so that she can help me determine how we fix that sucker (if we can at all) so that I can get it ready to query. Right now it’s pretty ugly but I think there’s at least a core there that can be saved.

I’m also still working on Across The Veil as well as the novel which was begun during my failed (once again) NaNo attempt, Zombiesapien.  The Sum Of All Tears will also probably get a significant look during 2011.   Maybe E-Male too.

I also am pondering a self-published short story collection.  That would just require digging up some shorts and writing a few more I have in mind.

So, as you can see, I have plenty of good intentions for the new year.  And we all know which road we pave with those.

Big Boy is wanting lunch now so I’d better get going now.

Harpies spew beer to all y’all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

