Skip to content

Preparing For Launch

January 21, 2011

So, I’ve done a bit of work on some short stories since my last update. Not a lot but, anymore, some is better than what I’ve been getting.

Mainly, however, I’ve been solidifying my resolve to start up my manuscript formatting and cover design business. I’ve now got the domain registered and the website hosted. I’ve even got the very, very primitive beginnings of the site up at www.maceedesign.com.

The name, after much deliberation and Facebookery with friends and colleagues, ended up being Mace eDesign. See what I did there? You can’t say the name of the company without saying my last name but my name is nowhere explicitly stated. Clever, eh? ūüėČ

The next tough part became coming up with a logo. ¬†By which I mean finding a picture of a mace that was free to be used. ¬†And lining it up with a futury-type font to symbolize the joining of old and new. ¬†Like technologies. ¬†Like paper books and ebooks. ¬†Get it? ¬†ūüôā

Firstly came such:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Which was cool and all but the consensus (at least 75%) of those polled thought that it was neat but nigh on unreadable. That just won’t do for a logo which is supposed to attract people to your specific company.

So I was back at the Gimp-board and came up with this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Which was better font-wise as a whole but people still thought it looked like the picture was of some kind of spiky penis.  Again, wrong image for my company.

Third time’s the charm?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Better.  Much better.  But it was pointed out to me that the mace picture I had borrowed from teh Interwebz was, shall we say, a little cruder than a logo deserves.

In the tradition of “If you want it done right you have to do it yourself” I decided I was going to just have to Gimp myself a mace for my logo.

Which is what I did here:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this, dear readers/friends/both, is the logo as it stands.  I may do some colorized/glowy/flashy versions in the future (especially when I start selling my services as a webdesigner specializing in author pages) but I think this suffices for now.

I knew it wouldn’t be easy to come up with a logo. ¬†Especially when it took the better part of a day just to come up with the company’s name. ¬†But after a full day or so of brain-wracking, Googling fun I have come up with a logo that has, so far, gotten good responses from all of those I have polled thus far. ¬†Anyone reading this is free to comment on any or all of the designs, of course.

Now I must take my leave because there’s chores to be done, writing to be writ and a website to be imagined and designed and finished (it is live now but extremely primitive and non-cohesive so far).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

